Not a rose garden all the time…

That was too long of a break.  I figured that instead of doing this blog by the seat of my pants, I would put some thought into these posts so that the most can be gained from anyone who reads this.

So, back to where we left off, way back in May.  Memorial Day I was finally able to put in my garden.  I was not able to plant until the garden was roto-tilled since this is a community garden.  The day the garden was tilled, the skies opened up nearly every other day and two-thirds of an inch of rain on one day!  It was beginning to look that I wasn’t going to plant until June.  We finally caught a break Memorial Day weekend and I spent five hours breaking up the clods, leveling the plot, seeding, planting and watering.  The result was a near religious experience.  I knew that it was good.

Here was the final tally of what was planted (Each row is 10′):

  • 1 row of mesculin lettuce
  • 1 row of spinach
  • 2 row of beans
  • 4 rows of peas
  • 2 half rows of carrots
  • 1 half row of white onions
  • 1 half row of red onions
  • 1 row of garlic
  • 10 pepper plants
  • 8 eggplants
  • 6 tomato plants
  • 1 cherry tomato plant

Yes, that is all contained in a 10′ x 20′ plot.  The peas were planted in rows 6 inches apart.  I knew that was close and is my experiment of the garden (that is what inexperienced gardeners will call it).  I cannot walk straight to the back of the garden, I had to know where the pea rows were and side step my way to the lettuce.

Once everything sprouted (except the spinach, which never showed up.  GRRR!) reseeded the gaps and thought that the work was done.  Little did I know that for the next month I would be locked in mortal combat with other unwelcomed plants that sent wave after wave to invade my garden.  The only collateral damage so far has been an eggplant.  Not bad in my opinion.  It was not so bad at first, until we went nearly three weeks without rain.  Holy cow can those weeds hold on for dear life in hard, dry soil.  Many afternoons have been spent with little progress, but progress has been made.  I am sure there is a slick little tool out there that will help immensely, but I am going to do this myself with the help of only my little hoe.

Now here I find myself, a week after the 4th of July, and the garden has rewarded me for my toils.  The peas, beans and tomatoes are in full bloom, six peppers are growing with one already ripening and many more blooms, and everything else is doing very well.  Within days I should have my first lettuce crop.  But not everything I have done been all roses.  The experiment I mentioned is a near failure as the peas have latched on to each other to create a viney dome and anything underneath, be it pea leaf or weed leaf has died off..  I have now made a makeshift trellis for the peas to climb.

There have been more lessons taught in the garden than just botany.  Psychology, meteorology, pedology, etymology, and economics all have had lessons for me while I was in the garden.  Who knew you could be a college education from $30 worth of seeds?  I will explain more in future posts.

Until then, I hope your garden is going as well as mine, though I hope you do no have to lug around full 5 gallon buckets in order to water yours.

~J, the freedomtrekker

This entry was posted in Garden, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not a rose garden all the time…

  1. Dee says:

    Such a great job on the garden! I can’t wait to cook you yummy meals from the plentiful harvest!

Leave a Reply

